A goal without a plan is just a wish

I’ve never been a fan of resolutions. 

I’m more into building and breaking habits. Which I guess could be considered resolutions, but why do we need to wait until the new year to begin building new (good) habits and breaking old (bad) ones?

The answer is… we don’t. Obviously. But with January 1st comes a sense of “starting over” and “starting fresh.” So that’s what I am doing.. kind of.

Ever since college, I have enjoyed running. I do 5ks quite frequently, and enjoy them. Last year I wanted to run the Buffalo (Half) Marathon which is held Memorial Weekend every year. Thousands of people turn out each year to carry on the tradition of this race. So I started training about 12 weeks prior to the race. I wouldn’t consider myself a “beginner” but I have not run any longer than 3.1 miles in a race, so I was adding 10 miles to my usual. According to every training plan I was able to find, this is plenty of time to do this. My knees, however, said no. I was about a week and a half from race day when I realized if I kept running I was going to seriously hurt myself. So I dropped out.

I’ve never been so mad at myself in my whole life. I had spent the last eleven weeks running intense amounts of miles each week to prepare for this 13.1 mile race and here I was dropping out. But I had to, or I knew I wouldn’t be running for much longer. So I took some time off. I focused more on lifting weights and pretty much completely cutting out cardio. I broke my good habit of running...

We all know Albert Einstein’s definition of insanity is “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” So when I picked up running again, I knew I needed to make a change. I was chatting with a colleague when she mentioned the amazing workout she gets from baptiste yoga- power yoga- to be exact. I figured it was worth a shot. So I dug my yoga mat out from the back of my closet, filled my water bottle up, and headed to class that day after work.

It. was. hard. work.

I sweated (90 degree studio), I slipped (like I said, I was sweaty), I fell out of the poses… and I felt myself grow stronger. I’m not kidding. One class, and I knew it was the direction I needed to take to grow stronger and prevent future running injuries.

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-5-52-48-pm
Power Yoga Buffalo

So here I am, about two months after picking up yoga, and about three weeks into slowly adding running into my daily routine. I’m building back up my good habit of running.  I plan on running the Buffalo Half Marathon this year, if only to prove to myself that I can. I’m also documenting my daily runs in a notebook, which I didn’t do last year, inspired from one of the many Instagram accounts I began following when I picked up this running habit again.

I will train, I will run, and I will succeed. 

Does anyone else have any bad or good habits they’re trying to break and or begin? What are your tried-and-true methods of succeeding?


Thanks to https://unsplash.com/@esdesignisms for the awesome featured photo!
Leave a Reply

