Cruising the Caribbean

“She’ll be here until she runs… some just have to chase the sun.”

EDIT: This blog post was originally posted 1/10/16 and has since been moved over to here, my new blog. 

Why Am I Writing This Blog?

I have a “travel journal.” I don’t write in it nearly as much as I mean to. SO why in the world would I start a virtual travel journal? I’m not sure. But blogging has always interested me. I love reading other travel/fashion/teaching blogs and gaining new insights and ideas. So actually, maybe that’s the reason I’m starting this blog. To allow others to gain new insights and ideas, learn lessons, and to gain the urge to explore other places of the world. While I know it takes a very long time to even be recognized as a blog, I think it’s worth giving this a shot. Worst case scenario, I have this to look back on years from now, and relive my travels, and that’s not too bad of a scenario.

Disclaimer: I’m sure I’ll find my “writing voice” eventually, but for right now I am rant and babble, and there may be times when it seems like I’m not writing in complete sentences. I feel like it may seem more like an informal journal entry. So I’ll try and combat that as I write more.

First things first:

I had never been on a plane until my first year in college. FIRST YEAR IN COLLEGE.

That is insane. I only took a short 2-hour flight to Georgia with a friend. But I was hooked ever since.

I love traveling. Most say it comes from my Grandpa, who always loved to travel, explore, and didn’t care if he had to do it on his own.

I’ve been back and forth within the US to visit friends who live out-of-state, or for concerts/ mini-vacations (North Carolina, D.C., NYC, Pittsburgh, PA, Cleveland, OH, Michigan, West Virginia…etc), but never to a foreign country (minus parts of Canada… but we live 20 minutes from there, so it’s not considered that big of a deal around here).

My biggest recent trip has been a 5-day Cruise that left from San Juan, Puerto Rico; that docked at St. Maarten and St. Thomas, and ended up in Port Canaveral (Orlando), Florida.

LOVEPuerto Rico and I am dying to go back.

11081342_10152684053136498_1509126869204783659_n

I was able to go running during the mornings before we started our day. Ran up a large hill by El Morro, ran along the Atlantic and past all of the stray cats that linger on top of cars and throughout the streets. I ran near the locals, felt like a local.Ok…. Puerto Rico is AMAZING. If you haven’t been, you need to go. Now. Book your ticket now. We chose an AirBnB for our stay, and the only thing I didn’t care for was the lack of windows. There were none actually. I’m a natural light person so this was a little tough. But truly, we were only there to sleep and change/shower, so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

I loved practicing Spanish (of which I know little to none). When ordering breakfast for myself and my friends, it was invigorating trying to breach the language barrier.

While we did see a lot of Old San Juan, I feel like there is so much more to be seen and explored, and I can’t wait to go back.

The streets of Old San Juan are magical and beautiful.

The cruise:

It was amazing. I loved every second of it. The cruise experience in itself is enough to get you hooked to that sort of vacation, but visiting the USVI, namely being by myself on a jet ski in the middle of the Caribbean Sea (ok, not the middle of it, but you get what I mean), just puts this unmanageable travel itch inside of you that has you longing for more.

St. Thomas from above. I’m pretty sure there is a lot we missed when visiting this island; but we did walk through its streets and go up this incline from where this picture was taken. A beautiful place that deserves more time!!

What’s next?

SO this year on Spring Break (I’m a teacher…substitute teacher … anyone have a classroom they don’t want?!) I’ll be visiting one of my best friends in LONDON. She’s doing a post-grad thing there for about 6 months and that makes it prime opportunity to visit. I CAN’T WAIT.

travel– it is the only thing you buy that makes you richer

Leave a Reply

